MINUTES OF THE 11TH ANNUAL GENERAL BODY MEETING

<u>OF</u>

FORUM OF INDIAN REGULATORS (FOIR)

Venue : Casuarina

India Habitat Centre

Lodhi Road NEW DELHI

Date : 17th June, 2010

List of Participants : At Annexure-I (enclosed)

Dr. Pramod Deo, Chairperson, CERC and Hony. Chairman, FOIR welcomed the Members of the FOIR in the 11th AGM. In his inaugural address Dr. Deo highlighted that this AGM assumes special importance as FOIR has been able to restore its original mandate as a result of other sectoral regulators joining the FOIR. He informed that Petroleum & Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB), Competition Commission of India (CCI), Airport Economic Regulatory Authority (AERA) and Tariff Authority for Major Ports (TAMP) have become Members. Pension Fund Regulatory & Development Authority (PFRDA) is also likely to join as member of FOIR shortly. He also welcomed the new Chairpersons and Members of Electricity Regulatory Commissions (ERCs).

Chairman, FOIR informed that the Governing Body of FOIR (reconstituted after broad basing) in its meeting held on 31st May, 2010 had recommended formation of Working Groups on capacity building of regulatory staff, investment promotion on infrastructure sector and on sector specific issues. Apart from the AGM, FOIR also organizes Workshop on important issues. Dr. Deo informed the Members about the topical issues like regulation and regulatory framework, interface between Competition Commission of India and Sectoral Regulators which are likely to be discussed in the workshop that will follow the AGM.

- 2. After the address by FOIR Chair, Shri Sushanta K. Chatterjee, Dy. Chief (RA), CERC briefed the FOIR about the Agenda Items. After discussing the Action Taken Report of the last AGM and the special meeting of the Governing Body of FOIR, the two minutes were endorsed. The proposed constitution of Governing Body for the year 2010-11 was also approved. It was informed by Shri Chatterjee that composition of the Governing Body is based on the rules of FOIR which provide inter alia that the Chairperson or Member would be appointed based on their seniority subject to the condition that he/she has one year's service left.
- 3. The next agenda items viz the balance sheet budget for 2010-11 were taken up together for consideration. Shri Chatterjee explained the salient features of the audited accounts as also the proposed budget for the year 2010-11. After discussion, the audited accounts, budget as well as the proposal of appointment of auditors based on the procedure followed in CERC, were approved. The Forum thereafter considered the decisions taken by the Governing Body in its meeting held on 31st May, 2010. The major decisions were explained. The recommendations were appreciated and the suggestion of constituting three Working Groups was endorsed.
- 4. FOIR had commissioned a Study on "Assessment of Cost of Service for Supply of Agricultural Consumer and Methods to Reduce Cross Subsidy for Agriculture Category". The consultancy was awarded to M/s TERI and Dahiya consultancy. Shri Chatterjee informed that the draft report has already been considered and endorsed by the Standing Committee of FOIR. The report has come out with the broad methodology for assessment of the cost of service to agricultural consumer, after taking into consideration the real life factors like hours of supply, quality of supply etc. to agricultural consumers. TERI made a presentation highlighting the salient features of the study and the broad findings. A copy of the presentation is enclosed at Annexure-II. After discussion, the Members sought clarification on some issues and after detailed discussion, the methodology evolved for assessment of cost of service of supply for agricultural consumers was approved.
- 5. After the presentation by TERI, the floor was left open for discussion of any other issue. Shri V.S. Ailawadi, former Chairman of Haryana Electricity Regulatory Commission (HERC) raised issues on implementation of open access at intra-state level and said that he would like to

send a note on the issues agitating the minds of stakeholders on implementation of open access. He also said that permitted he could make a presentation in the next FOIR meeting and workshop on those issues. Chairman, FOIR welcomed the suggestion.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair and deep appreciation for the FOIR Secretariat for having successful of the meeting.

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS ATTENDED THE 11^{TH} ANNUAL GENERAL BODY MEETING OF

<u>FORUM OF INDIAN REGULATORS (FOIR)</u> <u>HELD ON 17TH JUNE, 2010 AT INDIA HABITAT CENTRE, NEW DELHI.</u>

S. No.	Name	Designation
1.	Dr. Pramod Deo	Chairperson, CERC &
		Hony. Chairman, FOIR
2.	Shri Yashwant S. Bhave	Chairperson, AERA &
		Hony. Vice-Chairman, FOIR
3.	Shri Jai Singh Gill	Chairperson, PSERC &
		Hony. Vice-Chairman, FOIR
4.	Shri A. Raghotham Rao	Chairperson, APERC
5.	Shri B.K. Halder	Chairperson, BERC
6.	Shri Manoj Dey	Chairperson, CSERC
7.	Dr. P.K. Mishra	Chairperson, GERC
8.	Shri Bhaskar Chatterjee	Chairperson, HERC
9.	Shri Mukhtiar Singh	Chairperson, JSERC
10.	Dr. V.K. Garg	Chairperson, JERC for Goa & all
		UTs except Delhi
11.	Shri K.J. Mathew	Chairperson, KSERC
12.	Shri V.P. Raja	Chairperson, MERC
13.	Shri P.J. Bazeley	Chairperson, MSERC
14.	Shri S.I. Longkumer	Chairperson, NERC
15.	Shri B.K. Das	Chairperson, OERC
16.	Shri Rajesh Awasthi	Chairperson, UPERC
17.	Shri V.J. Talwar	Chairperson, UERC
18.	Shri V.K. Sood	Ex-Chairperson, DERC
19.	Shri V.S. Ailawadi	Ex-Chairperson, HERC
20.	Shri K.S. Chaube	Ex-Chairperson, HERC
21.	Shri S.K.F. Kujur	Ex-Chairperson, JSERC
22.	Shri P.K. Mehrotra	Ex-Chairperson, MPERC
23.	Shri Vijoy Kumar	Ex-Chairperson, UPERC
24.	Shri S. Jayaraman	Member, CERC
25.	Shri V.S. Verma	Member, CERC
26.	Shri M.P. Vijayakumar	Member, AERA
27.	Shri S.K. Jayaswal	Member, BERC
28.	Shri B.K. Sharma	Member, CSERC
29.	Shri Shyam Wadhera	Member, DERC
30.	Shri S.R. Sethi	Member, DERC

31.	Shri Rohtash Dahiya	Member, HERC
32.	Shri K. Srinivasa Rao	Member, KERC
33.	Shri Vishwanath Hiremath	Member, KERC
34.	Shri M.P. Aiyappan	Member, KSERC
35.	Shri K.K. Garg	Member, MPERC
36.	Shri B.K. Misra	Member, OERC
37.	Shri S.S. Pall	Member, PSERC
38.	Shri Virinder Singh	Member, PSERC
39.	Shri K. Venugopal	Member, TNERC
40.	Shri Anand Kumar	Member, UERC
41.	Shri Shahid Hasan	Associate Director, TERI
42.	Shri Gurudeo Sinha	TERI
43.	Shri D.P. Sinha	Ex-Member, CERC
44.	Shri R. Krishnamoorthy	Ex-Member, CERC
45.	Shri P.C. Verma	Ex-Member, JSERC
46.	Shri Jayant Deo	Ex-Member, MERC
47.	Shri A. Velayutham	Ex-Member, MERC
48.	Shri K.L. Vyas	Ex-Member, RERC
49.	Shri V.K. Khanna	Ex-Member, UERC
50.	Shri S.C. Dhingra	Ex-Member, UPERC
51.	Shri R.D. Gupta	Ex-Member, UPERC
52.	Shri Alok Kumar	Secretary, CERC
53.	Shri K.K. Sharma	Advisor (Law), CCI
54.	Shri G.R. Wadhwa	CCI
55.	Shri S.K. Chatterjee	Deputy Chief (RA), CERC